top of page

Circle in a Square circumvents Lauren Kinhan's view of the world up to her 50th year on the planet.  Motherhood, marriage, touring and sending it all through her inventive lens allows the world into her poetry and musical playground.  Ever the wordsmith, she has created a vibrant community of musicians who gathered to interpret her personal songs into anthems, heartbreaking sonnets and everything in between.  Lauren plays with Jazz, contemporary, world and blues hues to paint a singular place for you to soak up an impressionistic songbook.


Co produced with the legendary Elliot Scheiner, they partnered on this album with all the hills and valleys the repertoire took them and he shined it to a high gloss.  Pianist Andy Ezrin was a central collaborator on the music, helping Lauren realize the lushness she wanted from the harmonic and groove components and helping highlight the stories and voice at every turn.


Brilliantly featured on the album are long time bandmates, Ben Wittman on drums, Peter Eldridge on piano, Donny McAslin on tenor sax, Romero Lubambo on guitar and Joel Frahm on alto sax.   Rounding out the rhythm section is the elegant David Finck on upright bass and the ever funky Will Lee on electric bass.  And other very special guests that put grace to the notes are Chuck Loeb on guitar, Gary Versace on accordion and Randy Brecker on trumpet.


Its a star studded album, but they played like an esemble.  Thoughtful and provoking arrangements  invented from the beautiful songs, they take the listener on a ride that is unforgettable and wholly original.


Produced by Elliot Scheiner and Lauren Kinhan

Recorded by Elliot Scheiner and Mathew Scheiner

Mixed by Elliot Scheiner

Recorded at Avatar Studios, NYC, Eyeball Studios, Redding CT

Additional Recording by Michael Brorby at Acoutic Recording, Brooklyn and Cynthia Daniels at Monk Music, East Hampton, NY

Asst. Engineer, Akihiro Nishimura

Mastered by Paul Gold, Salt Mastering, Brooklyn, NY

Production Coordinator, Mellissa Hammons

Executive Producers, Robert Marcus and Steve Ridley

Art Direction by Burton Yount

Photography by Sandrine Lee

Dotted i Records, 2014


All songs are written by Lauren Kinhan except where noted 

All lyrics are written by Lauren Kinhan


Track Listing:


1. Circle in a Square (Written by Lauren Kinhan and Ada Rovati)

2. My Painted Lady Butterfly

3. Another Hill to Climb

4. Chasing the Sun

5. I'm Lookin' for that Number

6. To Live or Die

7. Pocketful of Harlem (Written by Lauren Kinhan and Andy Ezrin)

8. We're not going anywhere Today

9. Chaussure's Complex

10. Bear Walk (Written by Lauren Kinhan and Jiro Yoshida)

11. Vanity's Paramour

12. The Deep Within (Written by Lauren Kinhan and Peter Eldridge)

Circle in a Square

    bottom of page